A Shelter Full of Hope and Promise

Dogs: Accepting Applications

Copper

236518395_262510282104967_5698675834451630335_n

Copper

Breed: Hound mix
Gender: Male
Age: 16 years
Size: Large

 

Energy Level: Medium/low
Training Goals: Learning how to travel in a vehicle
House trained? Yes
Kids? Copper loves people and kids, but his back end is sore so kids have to be old enough to not climb or fall on him. 

Cats? Yes
Dogs? Copper would prefer to be in a home with other friendly dogs. 
Medical Needs: Copper is on daily dose of Metacam and join supplements.

About Me:

Hi, I'm Copper!

I am an old man who has spent most of his life outside but now I am looking for retirement in a home with a yard and a family who will love and care for me throughout my golden years. I love going on walks and playing slow motion fetch.

I can be a bit stubborn but am a loving happy guy!

My perfect match
- Is looking for a chill, senior companion
-Has a home with a yard
-Can provide me with senior medical care and love!

My Story:

I have lived most of my life outside but have gotten too old to stay healthy and happy during the heat and bugs of summer and the cold of winter, so now I am at WAG, hoping they can find me the perfect retirement home!

 

If you cannot adopt at this time, please consider donating to WAG so they can always help animals like me!

 

Cal & Sol

IMG-9268

Cal & Sol

Breed: Lab/Mastiff cross
Gender: Males
Age: approx. 3 years old
Size: Extra Large

 

Energy Level: Medium/High
Training Goals: Individual training sessions - working on polite introductions to new people and other dogs.
House trained? Yes
Kids? 15 years+

Cats? No
Dogs? Yes, as long as we get along! We can be selective of our dog friends - we do not get along with unneutered males.
Medical Needs: None

About Me:

My Perfect Match:

-Is willing to take a few trips to WAG to get to know us before taking us home. We are fearful of strangers when we first meet them.

-Has experience with fearful dogs. Our reactions to fears can include barking & lunging or not wanting to move!

-Has lots of patience and understanding of our past - we were feral with our other siblings for the first 6 months of our lives, then our first home was PAWS & WAG.

-Having a safe & secured yard would be a bonus for morning zoomies!

-Loves goofy loveable quirky boys! When we are comfortable with you, we like to show off and get into mischief.

-Will continue with our training and be okay with doing individual training for each of us. We are very food motivated and already know a lot of basic training goals!

-We need help to grow confidence without the other, while we love going on walks together, we need individual walks as well!

-Will be okay with vocal dogs! We are both loud barkers and sometime bark in excitement!

-Will be strong! We are both strong and there is two of us 😉

-Will love us forever no matter what, quirks and all!

 

About Us:

-Although we take a while to warm up to new people, once we trust you we are very loyal to our friends.

-We are both very well behaved in the home, although we are at the counter level, we never sneak stuff off!

-We are very shy about meeting new people, you may need to meet a few times before we are friends.

-We enjoy quiet walks in the woods, we would need to work slowly on enjoying walks in busier areas.

-We need lots of gentle training, we loved getting a chance to work with Saundra from Alpine dogs!

-We have a few tricks up our sleeves - 'Touch' will bring us right to you for a touch of your hand and a treat. - 'This way' will let us know that we are going to turn abruptly to a new direction if you want us to avoid something. We do well with recall when it has been practised in a safe environment and with a long line. 'Leave it' often reminds us to check in with our human. 'Sit' and 'lie down' are easy for us 🙂 We are still learning 'stay' but doing pretty good with that too!

 

 

Our Story:

Our first 6 months of our lives were without human interaction, we were with our 2 other littermates and no home. We were brought into PAWS and shortly after transferred to WAG. After some time at WAG, we really settled in and were ready to find a home to call our own. We were adopted by a lovely individual who put in lots of time to gain our trust and we loved her greatly. Unfortunately, we were brought back to WAG as we are a lot of dog for one person!

 

If you cannot adopt at this time, please consider donating to our WAG, they continue to take in animals like us, who will need a little more time to find their forever family.

Lola

68891799_3009385395792525_1948224876594593792_n

Lola

Breed: Pit Bull
Gender: Female
Age: 3 year's old
Size: Medium
Where you can find me: At WAG

Energy Level: Medium
Training Goals: To work one on one with her & a trainer to help overcome fears & anxieties
House trained? Yes
Kids? No

Cats? No
Dogs? No
Medical Needs: I have had a very unstable past, to help me cope with my fears I am on anti-anxiety medication!

 

My Perfect Match:

-Is willing to take many trips to WAG to get to know me before taking me home. It takes a few controlled sessions to make the slow introduction and convince me I don;t have to be scared of you.

-You are a woman with no male signifigant other.

-Is experienced with reactive dogs. I do not have any "history" right now, and I need to keep it that way! That will be up to YOU to keep me and everyone else safe.

-Lives in a QUIET area – busy places are not for me! I need a direct and private access to the outdoors where I will not be running into strange humans or dogs.

-A safe, secure, and private yard is a huge bonus.

-Loves snuggly girls, watching movies, suntanning in the back yard, and SNACKS!

-Will continue with my training and take me on SAFE and SECLUDED walks/adventures only. I will not be able to walk down busy streets, go to dog parks, or other busy places.

-Patient with me on our first few meetings – I will be scared of you at first and you will need to make multiple trips to WAG before I understand that you are not a threat.

-Is pro-muzzle. I need to wear one in public to keep me and everyone else safe.

-Lives a quiet lifestyle with no visitors/social events at the house. I do not like visitors unless I have already built a relationship with them.

-Will love me forever no matter what!

 

UPDATE: A wonderful supporter has offered to pay for my First Mate food for the entire first year after my adoption! WOW!

 

About Me:

-I arrived at WAG when my owners were arrested and I was seized. They never came back to get me so WAG has welcomed me to stay until I find a new home.

-I am VERY scared of men and would like a home with a woman.

- I can be a big leash puller so my new owner needs to be strong, but my leash manners are getting better every day!

-I like to go on hikes but I mostly like to be with you!

-I love to sleep in and cuddle on the couch with you for hours. I am a movie night and snacks kind of girl!

-You will need to meet me a few times before we are best friends, but warm chicken is a path to my heart!

-I like to sit on top of my favourite humans and give them hugs and kisses! In exchange, they can rub my belly for hours.

-I can spend hours napping in the sun.

-I LOVE to swim!! I am a mermaid.

-I am very smart and am extremely sensitive to other's emotions.

-I never wore a muzzle when I came to WAG and now I am fully muzzle trained.

My Story:

I have had a very unstable start to my life. I was impounded by the RCMP when my previous caregivers were arrested. They never returned to pick me up and I was left at WAG.

It is believed that I was abused and neglected in my previous home, hence my fearfulness and anxiety. I have never had a stable home life, or proper training, both of which I need in my next home.

I am quite sad that I've found myself at a shelter but I have settled into the stable routine well and impressed the staff at how much I have grown in my time here!

I can't wait for a lady that will commit a lifetime of love to me.