A Shelter Full of Hope and Promise

Dogs: Perfect Match Found!

Diego – Adopted August 2020!

117314124_769788683832120_9193099132163862567_n

Diego

Breed: Shepherd Mix
Gender: Male
Age: 1 year old
Size: Medium/Large
Where you can find me: In a foster home - adoption appointments only

 

Energy Level: High
Training Goals: Mandatory Basic Manners Training booked in for Post Adoption
House trained? Yes
Kids? 15 years+

Cats? Unknown
Dogs? Unknown
Medical Needs: Yearly check ups

About Me:

Hi, I'm Diego!

I have only been at WAG for a week now, but apparently I am a popular guy! I have gone into a foster home who has said this about me!

I was pretty nervous going to a new home, but after a little while I settled right in! I am a big puppy, I like to bite and nip at your ankles and feet when I am really excited and playful! If you give me a toy though I will happily play with that instead! I am a good boy on leash, my foster thinks with the right training I could do well running along with a bike!

I am quite interested in bugs and squirrels, so I may not be the best fit for young and playful cats.

I am pretty nervous of other dogs at first, and kids and new people(with big beards) as well. I like to keep my distance, but after a few moments though my tail will wag.

I need a home that is committed to me and ready to give me a life with love and adventure for the rest of my years. A little bit of training with my new family would also be beneficial to all of us. I can't wait to find my forever home.

My Story:

I was a loved dog, but my family could no longer afford my care, they made the hard choice to surrender me to WAG in hopes that I will find a family that will be able to take care of me for all my years to come!

If you cannot adopt at this time, please consider donating to WAG!

Stella – Adopted June 2020!

92460480_234198954619332_6614283737880330240_n

Stella

I AM NOT CURRENTLY READY TO BE ADOPTED INTO A HOME

Breed: Mastiff x Lab (Parents Unkown)
Gender: Female
Age: 1 Year 6 Months
Size: Large
Where you can find me: At WAG
Energy Level: Medium
Training Goals: Walking on a leash, being touched, going to the bathroom while on a leash
House trained? Yes
Kids? No
Cats? Unknown
Dogs? Yes, I need to live with another confident dog.
Medical Needs: Regular Veterinary Care

 

My Perfect Match:

-Has another confident dog to help me feel safe.

-Experience with fearful/feral dogs

-No kids and a quiet lifestyle

-Has lots of patience and understanding of my past - I had no human contact for the first months of my life and was feral.

- Will not be offended if I do not warm up to you right away! It took me months to trust my friends at WAG and you will have to be willing to give me the time I need.

-Will go very slow with me and let me gain confidence, I have never lived in a home before, been on a leash or harness, and many other things that most dog owners take for granted.

-Willing to take multiple trips to WAG to build trust and a relationship with me.

-Will keep me on leash and safe with a GPS tracker - I am a flight risk!

-A safe and secure fenced yard is a huge plus!

-Will love me forever no matter what!

About Me:

I am very shy and not used to human interaction. I only learned to walk on a leash recently, but still very nervous and am just staying close to the shelter. I was only touched by humans for the first time in the past few months and I need a confident dog friend to show me that all humans are not bad.
Once I have learned a little more, I will be happy in a quiet home with someone who understands me and my special needs.

My Story:

I was rescued with my litter mates from a remote area where I had no family and no human interaction. I was brought to PAWS in Pemberton, where I started to learn that all humans were not bad, though I was not making progress there, as I would not let any of them touch me!

I was transferred to WAG's facility where they have been working with me daily to build up my confidence and trust, and in the last few weeks, I have made huge progress.

I now allow them to touch me and have even worn a harness and been outside of the shelter! This is huge for me!

Watch our social media to follow my progress!

Peppin – Adopted May 2020!

58737321_2435498146482712_8204699527609843712_n

Peppin

Breed: Pitbull Mix
Gender: Male
Age: 3 years
Size: Large
Where you can find me: At a foster home

Energy Level: Medium/High - I am a rambunctious boy but I also love to take long naps!
Training Goals: Basic manners, loose-leash walking, meeting/seeing other dogs calmly, and impulse control.
House trained? Yes
Kids? Older calm kids, I have lived with kids before!
Cats? No
Dogs? No thanks!
Medical Needs: Regular Veterinary Care

My Perfect Match:

-Is willing to take a few trips to WAG to get to know me before taking me home.

-Will continue with my training, using a WAG approved positive reinforcement trainer. I can be reactive with other dogs when on leash.

-Has lots of patience and understanding. My life has been bumpy and I need someone who is willing to be in it for the long haul.

-Loves to lead an active life - I have lots of energy! I may never be able to attend dog parks or be off leash in public areas as I do not get along with all other dogs, so you will have to be able to take me to quieter hikes and trails.

- Is cool with me spending lots of time napping in the house, I love a cozy bed or couch and don't mind napping till you're home from work!

-Is strong! I am a big, muscular boy.

-Is pro-muzzle. I need to wear one in public to keep me and everyone safe.

-Will love me forever no matter what!!

About Me:

I love to run and play with my friends, learn new tricks, and snuggle with my favourite people. I prefer walks in the woods, and would rather not go to busy dog parks.

I have been bounced around a lot and I'm looking for some consistency so I can relax.

I am a strong boy, but with the right equipment - a Freedom harness and lots of tasty treats - I will walk with a loose leash and give you my full attention amid distractions.

I am extremely friendly with people and love nothing more than meeting new humans who will play with me and give me endless cuddles!

I do not get along with all dogs and can be strong! My new family will have to learn how to manage me and those situations.

My Story:

I was returned to WAG after my previous home could no longer care for me. I am very sad to be homeless again but can't wait to find a home of my own that will continue with my training and love me no matter what! I am such a loving boy and really deserve the best!

Sunny – Adopted August 2020!

73073008_417966555765508_5223478387183452160_n

Sunny

Breed: Cattledog Mix
Gender: Female
Age: 2 years
Size: Medium
Where you can find me: At WAG

Energy Level: Medium
Training Goals: Overcoming my fears of meeting new people, mandatory training sessions booked in with a WAG approved trainer post-adoption
House trained? Yes
Kids? No
Cats? Yes, as long as we get along! 
Dogs? Yes, though I like my own space!
Medical Needs: Regular Veterinary Care

 

My Perfect Match:

-Is willing to take a few trips to WAG to get to know me before taking me home. Strangers make me nervous and need to know how to interact with me.

- Has a quiet home, I love my friends, but I don't like having new people in my home. 

-Will continue with my training. I am very smart and need work on my stranger danger.

-Has experience with reactive dogs. I have a bit of a "history" but if you know how to manage me and keep me feeling safe and surrounded by people who will respect my needs, I am such a good girl!

-Has lots of patience and understanding. I was a fearful puppy and was continually put into situations where I felt unsafe so my fear was reinforced. It's up to you to keep me feeling safe!

-Is pro-muzzle. I need to wear one in public spaces to keep me and everyone else safe and secure.

-Has a good ability to recognize and understand a dogs body language and respect it.

-Will love me forever no matter what!!

About Me:

I love to run and play with my dog friends, learn new tricks, and snuggle with my favorite people. I am sweet and quirky and playful when I am feeling happy and safe.

I have been bounced around a lot and I'm looking for some consistency so I can relax.

I am extremely nervous of strangers and will protect myself from this perceived threat, will you put in the time and effort to work through a training plan with me??

My Story:

I came to WAG last year as a surprise puppy that my mom's family wasn't ready to care for. I was adopted when I was still young, but my fears were not managed properly. I became more fearful and they could not take care of me how I needed.

If you cannot adopt me at this time please consider making a donation to WAG!

Vanessa



Name: Vanessa aka Ness, Nessy, or Nessa
Breed: Bull Terrier X
Gender: Female, spayed
Age: 3 years
Size: Medium

Energy Level: High
Training Goals: Learning to share and overcoming body handling issues
House trained? Yes
Kids? 19+
Cats? No
Dogs? Sometimes
Medical Needs: Anxiety medication

What makes me special? I am a true athlete and intelligent girl. My favourite things in the world are games of fetch, swimming, playing in the snow, long walks, and running alongside my foster dad’s mountain bike. I could do all of these activities for hours – to the point I’m shaking from being in the lake for so long, but I just don’t want to stop. Having said this, I love to jump on the couch and relax or lay on a bed in the sun. I get extremely excited when I see my people. I’ve been a bit of a work-in-progress, but with my dedicated training program I’m showing improvements.

My Perfect Family: I’m looking for a stable home that will give me the support that I need to overcome issues I gained from mistreatment as a pup. I’ll need someone with dog experience, or a strong desire to learn about dog behaviour and body language. I need someone that will go at my own pace, continue with my training program, show me love, praise, encouragement and patience. A home that doesn’t have busy surroundings would be ideal and people that want to have fun exercising with me!

 

If you are interested in adopting Vanessa, click HERE to fill out an application.



 

This beautiful girl is WAG’s latest rehabilitation case. We are working with a specialised training plan made specifically for her. Vanessa currently has resource guarding and body handling issues. She is quite submissive and can be anxious, however she is an excellent communicator with her body language and will let you know when she is feeling uncomfortable.

It is heart breaking all the things this girl has gone through in her two years. No one has understood or listened to her when she tries to communicate how she is feeling. She is looking for a very special home that wants to save her life. WAG is Nessy’s last hope of survival.



My Story:

My first 2 years of life have been very unstable and scary.  I started on the streets of California and was then taken to a high kill shelter in the states. I was adopted, then sold on Craigslist and now have been surrendered to WAG. No one has truly understood me and due to this I have developed some behavioural issues. 

Despite my fears, I am a sweet, active and funny girl. I LOVE a game of fetch, playing in puddles and tug ‘o’ war. I am an athlete and very smart. My issues are manageable with the right training resources and knowledge.