top of page

MJ – Adopted September 2022!


MJ Breed: Shepherd X Lab Mix Gender: Female Age: 2 years old Size: Large

Energy Level: Medium/ High, currently on REST Training Goals: Socialization and basic training House trained? Occasional accidents Kids? Yes, with proper supervision & separation Cats? Unknown Dogs? Potentially with proper supervision & separation Medical Needs: Finishing up her current course of vaccines, healing of leg fracture, then yearly checkup veterinary appointments

About Me:

Hi I’m MJ!

I am new at WAG having arrived only been here a couple of weeks. I am very friendly and happy go lucky, despite being in pain from a broken front leg which has been a problem for a while. I have been told to rest up until my upcoming surgery and for a while after. For now, I am decompressing – getting to know the staff, volunteers and my new routine at the shelter. Please check back for updates.


UPDATE: 08/09/22

I had some X-rays at Pemberton Vet recently and was found to require surgery with a specialist. The prognosis is good, but it is not a simple bone fracture repair and will be booked in asap! It will also be quite costly and paid for by the Critical Care Fund. Please think about donating to my care if you are in a position to do so.

I will need to continue resting until then, which I do struggle with, and take my pain meds. I will need a quiet, calm foster home to recover in or preferably adopter to take me home forever and look after me.


I put a smile on the face of everyone I meet! I like other dogs but I just want to RUN and PLAY and have fun, as I am very much still a puppy at heart. My new friends have discovered that I love balls and toys and long grass. I would run forever if I could and it wouldn’t get into trouble with my doc. The staff do let me play games like food puzzles, snuffle matts, kongs and crunch on ice cubes to keep me entertained. They even pretend not to see me destuff my new toys and make a mess. I am currently learning about harnesses and leashes and all of the things that will keep me safe and help me with my healing. I am pretty savvy and am quick to learn new things. They are also feeding me lots of donated treats and healthy food to increase my weight and help me build more muscle. Not forgetting the meds to keep me comfortable with the pain from my leg, but I am a very strong brave girl.

I would like a calm home with a family able to give me lots of love, fun and socializing at my own pace. Once I recover I am keen to go on lots of adventures, and have enjoyed playing with other dogs in my past. Some new things can make me a bit unsure and I need my family to be understanding that they’ll need to work with me during this big life change and give me time to adjust. A trainer may be useful to give me a good foundation as I learn the basics.

– A family with patience and understanding that a lot of things are new to me, I may need time to adjust to my new surroundings – Eager to learn more about dog body language so you can understand what I’m communicating to you! – Be ready for the 10+ year commitment If you’re dedicated to providing a safe home using only fear-free, positive reinforcement training methods, please fill out an application below: APPLY FOR MJ!

My Story:

I was surrendered to WAG in late July as one of three new Critical Care Cases. The people who cared for me knew that WAG would be able to help fix my broken leg and find me a forever home to suit my needs. DONATE TO WAG! Notice: JavaScript is required for this content.


bottom of page