top of page

Hi I'm Rango!

Updated: Mar 17

rango4

RANGO

Breed: Lab Husky X  Gender: Male Age: Nearly 4 years old Size: Medium (under 20kg)
  • Energy Level: Medium I’m a playful young boy who enjoy walkies, toys and naps 

  • House trained? Yes! 

  • Kids? I’d rather be the only child in the home please 

  • Cats? I have lived with cats before, but I think I’d rather not, it would probably depend on the cat 

  • Dogs? I get along with other dogs but can be selective about my dog friends, I love to play but it might be a bit much for me to live with another dog at this time 

  • Medical Needs: I’m all up to date with my vaccines and neutered. I am on some calming medications to help with my anxiety during this life transition

About Me:

I’m a gentle young boy with a sweet nature and have tons of great life skills but have recently found myself at WAG so the staff are still getting to know me. I have some anxieties around unfamiliar people so we are building our new friendships and enjoying learning all about each other. I have made a big impression on the team already as I am absolutely adorable and really know how to make the staff smile when I ask for pets and cuddles. Coming to WAG is a change for me, I came from a very loving home but am now looking for someone who can open their hearts and home to me and provide me with a calm environment where I will settle in at my own pace and thrive.


Likes: All the toys, especially balls, stuffies and more! Hiking, Treats! Sticks! Pets (once we are friends), playing on the beach, chase games with other dogs or humans, camping in quiet spots, bones, bully sticks, training, walkies and adventures, playing with my friends once I trust you (both two-legged and four-legged!). I love walks and am very confident out and about, I am not phased by the busy road outside the shelter and am simply thrilled to be going for an adventure and having fun!


Dislikes: Strangers trying to pet me when they come into my home and space, please respect my need to come and say hi to you and decide I want to engage. I can warm up very quickly if so. Nail trims – I have been working on desensitisation on this, perhaps I might like to try a nail board next? The Vets – I have been working on this too, home visits might be my best plan to help me moving forward. Car journeys make me anxious but I usually settle down after a little while.


I’m working on gaining confidence at the shelter as it is a big change for me and I have been meeting the team of staff gradually. I am most confident when I meet new friends outside and am much more relaxed about things on walks, in fact I am such a joy to take on adventures and have great manners such as loose leash walking, recall and more! I am such a bundle of fun and love, I can’t wait to find my pawfect match with a family who are patient and will enjoy getting to know me and loving me for all of my wonderful traits and help me settle in and work on my anxiety too.


I’d love a calm home where the humans have lots of time for me, to play, learn, adore me and keep me safe. If you think we’d be a great fit, please scroll down and fill out an application form today!


Please keep an eye on my profile for updates as the staff get to know me better…..


My perfecr owner would be...
  • willing to take a few trips to WAG to get to know me before taking me home. I’m shy at first but I will soon learn to trust you.

  • A family with patience who love joyful, silly, loving young active dogs!

  • Understanding that I have had HUGE changes in my life recently and to give me the time I need to settle in and relax after my adoption.

  • Be proactive with my training, using a WAG approved trainer that will help me with my anxieties, keep up the good work with my amazing skills and give me the best set up for success. Continuing my muzzle training will be a beneficial skill to add to my repertoire.

  • Having a safe & secured yard would be a bonus for morning zoomies and play sessions. If not, being okay with using a long line to allow freedom but keep me safe.

  • Will take me for annual vet checkups and be proactive with my health. I am currently on anti-anxiety medication which will be useful to continue during my transition into a new home with the guidance of a licensed vet or vet behaviorist.

My Story:

Rango came into the care of WAG after his prior guardian asked for guidance in finding Rango a new environment and home where he could really relax and thrive.

If you are not in a position to adopt right now, please consider donating to WAG so we can help animals like Rango in need of assistance. Your donations make a difference in providing care, shelter, and hope for animals facing adversity and helps them in their journey to their individual future adoptions.

Comments


bottom of page