top of page

Barry – Adopted December 2023!

barrycouch2

BARRY Breed: Lab Mix Gender: Male Age: 2 years old  Size: Medium-Large

Energy Level: I’m a young boy who loves to play but also loves to chill with the humans.  House trained? Yes!  Kids? Likely older kids with proper separation and supervision! Cats? Unknown.  Dogs? I like most other dogs but would need to be introduced properly and given time to adjust.  Medical Needs: I’m all up to date with my vaccines and am neutered. In the future – yearly checkups. 

About Me:

I’m a two year old lover boy who has been in the care of WAG for over 6 weeks now, but luckily for me several of those have been spending in a loving foster home. I didn’t love being at WAG as I was alone in my kennel at night and preferred to be in the company of the humans at all times! I could settle well in reception but my favourite times were playing in the yard, walkies or relaxing at the feet of the staff under the desk as they typed away on the computer. Not too much has changed at my foster home in that regard, I am super affectionate and adore snuggling alongside lots of activities. I’m not afraid of the rain! Even if it is cold, dark, and pouring rain, I’m keen to get outside for a walk, run or even game of fetch. However I do NOT love car journeys, being crated, or other dogs coming in too hot! I enjoy the company of them after saying hi gently and politely, I just ask that they do the same. If have been known to bark at people coming to the door, but I am getting more confident with meeting strangers and love treats and positive reinforcement based methods to make new friends and I am warming up quickly. I am super active and keep my foster puurents busy, I’d love my forever family to also have lots of time for me, my training and fit me into their active lifestyle in the great outdoors!

I’d love a home where the humans have lots of time for me, to play, learn, adore me and keep me safe. If you think we’d be a great fit, please scroll down and fill out an application form today!

The morning: Wake up and have breakfast. I am not a picky eater and get so excited when you get my food bowl out. Next up, go for a sniffari walk around the neighbourhood. I have good leash manners when we’re walking in a neighbourhood, and like taking morning walks slowly so I can sniff out who has been by. If you keep the treats close at hand. I love to say hello to other dogs on my walks, and people have told me that even though I pull over to them, I am quite gentle once I’m saying hello! I also LOVE to play several rounds of fetch to get out the morning zoomies! I am super good at chasing balls and sticks and I love to show off how fast I can run. If you’re working from home, I’m happy having a snooze in your office and sometimes I like to make an appearance on Zoom calls. If you leave for work, I might need to go to daycare since I’m still working on some separation anxiety. If you have to head out for a bit, you can leave me a kong or puzzle. I am really smart and love figuring these things out. The afternoon: I’d love to go on a run or big hike in the forest! I am super good at running with humans on leash, and love getting out to explore. I am not afraid of bikes, and I would probably be good at chasing your bikes on trails if you’re into that sort of thing! Sometimes I stop abruptly because there is something I HAVE to smell, but usually I am excited to stay with my pack of humans. I’ve also learned that when my humans get their phone out, usually it’s to take a picture of me, so I sit nicely in front of the view and wait for my treat! After we get home, I like to lie down in the middle of the kitchen while you make dinner. Apparently this is inconvenient for you, but it doesn’t bother me at all! I’d like to end the day with a big, long couch snuggle. I love rolling on my back for belly rubs and nosing into you so you can scratch my ears more easily. I am very affectionate, and love letting my humans know how much I appreciate them. When its time for bed my chosen spot is down by the end of it, I’m content there and will sleep through the night until its time to begin another day filled with adventures.”
-Is willing to take a couple of trips to get to know me before taking me home. I can sometimes be unsure of new people when I first meet them and do a big bork but really I am the goodest-sweetest-boy. – A family with patience who love gentle yet goofy, joyful, silly young ACTIVE dogs! – Understanding that I have had HUGE changes in my life recently and to give me the time I need to settle in and relax after my adoption. Especially if I am to live with other dogs or young humans. – Be proactive with my training, using a WAG approved trainer that will help me learn new skills and give me the best set up for success. – Having a safe & secured yard would be a bonus for morning zoomies and soccer sessions! If not, being okay with using a long line to allow freedom but keep me safe. – Will take me for annual vet checkups and be proactive with my health.

My Story:

I came from a loving home but I need some stability in my life as I have moved around a few times lately. I’d prefer a calm home where I can be myself and be the center of your world!

If you are not currently in a position to adopt, please consider making a donation to WAG to help me and other doggos in need. DONATE TO WAG’S CRITICAL CARE FUND! Notice: JavaScript is required for this content.

Comentários


bottom of page