top of page

Bubba – Adopted September 2022!

Bubba Breed: Labrador cross Gender: Male Age: 1.5 yearsold Size: Large

Energy Level: High Training Goals: Learning to live in a house and an urban environment, currently on anti-anxiety medication. House trained? Yes Kids? 15 years+ Cats? Probably not Dogs? Potentially with proper supervision & separation Medical Needs: Moving forward yearly veterinary appointments

About Me:


I am a young pup who still has LOTS to learn! I have been loving being at WAG!

I am a very energetic boy, I love to do zoomies and play in the yard with my toys. I have been working on my manners, and am doing so well with calmer human greetings and not jumping up. I can do SIT, DOWN, PAW and am working on other fun skills to add to my repertoire. I am now also much better at settling inside the shelter, and even in foster homes and car rides when I have had day visits. I can be a bit of a busy body and will need supervision or I may be tempted to chew something I’m not supposed to. That being said, if you’re around and not paying attention to me, I may try and bug you until you do. I can still be a little mouthy when I am playing or feel that I am not getting enough attention, but I am improving with this too.

Apart from cuddles and belly rubs, I have been LOVING going out for walks regular walks and adventures out of the shelter, I love saying hi to new people when we are out and about. I’m getting famous now as lots of people recognize me on my walks and are so impressed with my progress!

Remember I am a very big boy, who has never had any training in my life prior to now. I am friendly, but I’m so big sometimes I don’t know my own strength. I haven’t spent too much time around other dogs yet, but with slow introductions, this may be something that could happen in the future!

MY BIG NEWS is that I have made friends with another WAG dog – Chicken. He is also am older puppy just like me but even bigger at 40kgs. We were introduced slowly with parallels walks and treats and lots of happy talk. I have been trained to wear a muzzle for dog meetings just in case, but this was very quickly removed as I had only positive body language and positive reactions and am now allowed to play with Chicken off leash in the yard. YAY! I love to roll on my back and be chased, it is great fun and tires me out.

I need a dog experienced home who can help me learn the skills I need to be a good boy. I have a kind heart and just want to be with the staff & volunteers as much as possible.

I am a little bit of a goofball and don’t know my own size, so a home with older kids would be okay, but young kids I could easily knock over a toddler. I would like a person who is willing to take it slow meeting me and spend the time to get to know me while I’m at the shelter first.

I am hoping that my forever family will be awesome humans, lots of play, adventures, cuddles, but most importantly I need them to be patient.

Some new things can make me a bit unsure and I need my family to be understanding that they’ll need to work with me during this big life change, hire a trainer and give me time to adjust.

Someone who wants to get on board with my training plan is necessary! Could you be my furrever family?

My perfect match – Be able to commit to coming to visit me a few times at the shelter before going into my forever home – A family with patience – Understanding that a lot of things are new to me, I may need time to adjust to my new surrounding – Be proactive with my training, using a WAG approved trainer that will help me gain confidence and give my family the tools they will need when I come across something that is scary to me – Be ready for the 10+ year commitment – Keep me healthy and happy with proper exercise and yearly vet visits.

My Story:

My family loved me lots, but didn’t have the time for me. I came from a home with a family with little humans, they gave me lots of love, but not lots of life skills.

My next family I hope will be eager to learn with me and make me an active member of their life!

If you can’t adopt, please consider donating to my care,

DONATE TO WAG! Notice: JavaScript is required for this content.


bottom of page