top of page

Samantha – Adopted June 2023!


Samantha Breed: Shepherd/ Malamute Gender: Female Age: Under 1 year old Size: Large and gaining weight!

Energy Level: Medium/High Training Goals: Basic manners, settling in to a new home, learning to live in a more urban environment, continuing to work on overcoming my fears, House trained? Yes Kids? Unknown. Potentially older kids with proper socialisation, supervision and seperation Cats? Unknown. Potentially with proper socialisation, supervision and seperation Dogs? Yes, with proper socialisation, supervision and seperation Medical Needs: Yearly veterinary visits. I am prescribed some calming medication that will help me during my transition if needed.

About Me:

Hi I’m Samantha, but you can call me Sammy..

I came to WAG as a stray, so not much is known about my past. I am about a year old, ever so sweet and I just love human company and asking for pets and cuddles. Although I am young, I am already a biggggg puppa, weighing 33kg at my first vet visit! I was timid when I arrived but the staff and volunteers soon saw me show off my fun loving, bouncy, goofy personality.

I know some basics like “sit, stay, leave it & let’s go” and am house trained. I have made some other doggie friends at the shelter and love to say hi to dogs and their humans on walks. (Very social and friendly!)

It’s best for new people to let me come to them, and take things at my pace whilst reading my body language to make sure I am feeling good. The shelter was too loud and stressful for me, so luckily, I was able to be moved into a calm, quiet, patient foster home.

Some training with a WAG approved positive reinforcement trainer will be beneficial for everyone. (I’m big so it’s easy to forget I’m young and still learning.) A tracker might be a good idea as I could be a flight risk as I transition into my next adventure. Loud noises spook me if I can’t see where they are coming from but I’m learning to shake it off.

While I’d love to be near my humans as much as possible (great if you work from home or have a dog friendly office).… I am OK being left alone for a few hours. I love my foster mom but what I REALLY need is a home committed to me and ready to give me a life with love, patience and quiet adventures for the rest of my years. Could you be my perfect match?

Foster Home Notes:

Loves –

Cuddles, play time, tummy rubs, company, zoomies, forest walks, rolling in snow, roast chicken and did I mention cuddles?

Likes –

Consistency, sitting on the deck, towel time after a rainy walk and curling up on her favourite blanket. Meal time (good appetite!) and treats for training or from toys.

Comfortable With –

Household noises, grooming, bath time on a non-slip surface with plenty of treats for distraction, handling feet, bikes or cars passing by (no lunging or barking, just alert and observes), putting harness on and walking close with a loose leash when relaxed.

Doesn’t Like –

Loud noises or voices if she can’t see the source, avalanche bombs and car rides are still a bit scary. (No panting, shaking or barking… but she does drool in the car.) Time and patience should allow her to overcome both. APPLY FOR SAMANTHA!

My Perfect Match: -Is willing to take a few trips to WAG to get to know me before taking me home. I can be nervous of strangers when I first meet them (more so with men) – A family with patience and a lot of love to give and a lot of time to spend with me whilst I work on building time spent alone once I am feeling more settled – Understanding that a lot of things are new to me, I will need time to adjust to my new surroundings. Loud noises can really spook me – Understanding that if I am expected to live with resident animals or children, that introductions must be taken slowly to make sure I am comfortable and kept safe – Be proactive with my training, using a WAG approved trainer that will help me contiinue to gain confidence and give my family the tools they will need -Having a safe & secured yard would be a bonus for morning zoomies! If not, being okay with using a long line to allow freedom but keep me safe -Will love me forever no matter what, quirks and all! Remember I am a GIANT PUPPY!

My Story:

Not much is known about my life prior to coming to the shelter. A good samaritan kept me warm and fed during the recent freezing temperatures. Later bringing me to WAG to keep me safe, give access to vet care including vaccines and my spay surgery.

If you are not in a position to adopt but would like to support WAG, please consider setting up a small monthly donation to make sure we can always say yes to other dogs like Sammy. SET UP A MONTHLY DONATION TO WAG! Notice: JavaScript is required for this content.


bottom of page