top of page

Sol – Adopted March 2022!


Has been in WAG’s care since April 2019! 1,046 days and counting Breed: Lab/Mastiff cross Gender: Male Age: Born August 2018 Size: Extra Large

Energy Level: Medium/High Training Goals:  Mandatory training session post adoption – working on confidence with new people and in new places. House trained? Yes Kids? 15 years+ Cats? No Dogs?  I can be selective of my dog friends – I do not get along with unneutered males. Medical Needs: Yearly veterinary appointments moving forward

About Me:

My biggest hurdle with adoption is that, I don’t actually want to make any new friends, not at first at least, and especially, not if you are too eager to meet me. Play a little hard to get and make sure you bring the goodies, warm chicken or some tasty roast beef has been helping me make friends faster. BUT it is still going to take you a while, a little less time with some REALLY high value treats. You can definitely win my affection through my stomach!

I am very well behaved in the home, although I am at the counter level, I never sneak stuff off! In the house I don’t need too much, mostly just a few comfy spots, I usually prefer to come where the people are, I’ll stick my butt right next to you so you can be productive and give it a scratch. I enjoy quiet walks in the woods, and can be such a good gentle walker. However, busy spots I am not a big fan of, when I am feeling really nervous, I’ll bark and lunge so the scary things keep their distance from me.

I’ll need lots of time, patience and commitment to using a force-free, positive reinforcement trainer post adoption, to help me adjust to my new life!

WAG is going to make sure that the if the boys can’t be adopted into the same family, they will be getting adopted along the same timeline.

My Perfect Match: -Is willing to take a few trips to WAG to get to know me before taking me home. I am fearful of strangers when I first meet them. -Has experience with fearful dogs. Reactions to fears can include barking & lunging or not wanting to move! -Has lots of patience and understanding of my past – we were feral with our other siblings for the first 6 months of our lives, then our first home was PAWS & WAG. -Having a safe & secured yard would be a bonus for morning zoomies! I like to play keep away so investing in a good long line to help give me some freedom, but make sure I am safe. -Loves goofy loveable quirky boys! When I am comfortable with you, I’ll show off and get into mischief. -Will continue working with a WAG approved trainer post adoption, I am very food motivated and already know a lot of basic training goals! -Will be okay with a vocal dog! I am loud and like to bark when I get excited! -Will be strong! – Would like to carry have meet ups with my siblings that are in the corridor as well. I’d love to have a chance to visit my siblings. -Will love me forever no matter what, quirks and all! APPLY FOR SOL!

My Story:

Our first 6 months of our lives were without human interaction, we were with our 2 other littermates and no home. We were brought into PAWS and shortly after transferred to WAG. After some time at WAG, we really settled in and were ready to find a home to call our own. We were adopted by a lovely individual who put in lots of time to gain our trust and we loved her greatly. Unfortunately, we were brought back to WAG as we are a lot of dog for one person! While we’ve been trying to find a home together for the last few years, we’ve had a hard time finding the right family. We’ve gotten more confident without each other, but still have such a bond and love for each other. Ideally our forever family would be open to visits together after we’ve been adopted.

If you cannot adopt at this time, please consider donating to our WAG, they continue to take in animals like us, who will need a little more time to find their forever family. DONATE TO WAG! Notice: JavaScript is required for this content.


bottom of page