top of page

Star – Adopted April 2023!

yard week 2 (1)

Star Breed: Akita X Border Collie Mix Gender: Female Age: 2 years old Size: Large

Energy Level: Medium Training Goals: Settling in to a new home, learning to live in a more urban environment, walking on leash House trained? Yes Kids? Older children, with proper socialisation, supervision and seperation Cats? Unknown. Potentially with proper socialisation, supervision and seperation Dogs? Yes, with proper socialisation, supervision and seperation Medical Needs: Yearly veterinary visits

About Me:

Hi I’m Star!

I came from a loving home but sadly my family was no longer able to keep me, due to no fault of my own. I was brought to WAG a few weeks ago and the staff have loved getting to know me, they are excited to help find me a perfect match! I am the prettiest girl ever and although I am large, I am very sweet and gentle in demeanor, and I do have a playful side too.

I was a little spooked when I arrived at the shelter, as I have had lots of changes in my life recently and didn’t know any of the humans there yet. I was given a safe space to rest in and starting accepting treats from the staff who spent time with me. They took it slowly and I decided they were alright after all and started asking for pets, playing with the toys and running around the yard! I love being with my pals and having cuddles, or just napping at their feet under the desk at reception.

I am enjoying my days at the shelter so far and am making friends more easily now. Its best for new people to let me come to them, and take things at my pace whilst reading my body language to make sure I am comfortable. Treats help, of course! I am bff’s with handsome Amhoosh who I love to run around the yard with, sometimes I chase him, but its also fun for him to chase me but I am faster than him!

I know some basic skills and manners such as “sit” and “down” and am working on not jumping up on my friends when I am excited to see them. I don’t have much experience of leash walking yet, but now have my own bright yellow harness which I am happy to wear now, so I’ve started going on short walks in the shelter area. We do currently use a GPS tracker as a precaution as I can be jumpy from loud noises or sudden movements and am getting used to the area and all of the local activity.

I did live with another dog, cats and some kiddos in my last home, but introductions would need to be done at my pace. Older children who are able to listen to the adults and respect my space while I transition into my new home might be a good option. I can be quite bouncy and get very excited to say hello to all my human friends.

I need a home that is committed to me and ready to give me a life with love and adventure for the rest of my years. Some family training with a WAG approved positive reinforcement trainer would also be beneficial to all of us. I can’t wait to find my forever home! Are you my perfect match? APPLY FOR STAR!

My Story:

I came from a loving home but they were unable to keep me. It was a really hard decision for my family to make, but they brought me to WAG for some stability and TLC. I am looking forward to finding my forever home!

DONATE TO WAG! Notice: JavaScript is required for this content.

Comments


bottom of page