top of page

Winnie – Adopted March 2023!

Winnie Breed: Pitbull Mix Gender: Female Age: Approx. 1 year Size: Medium

Energy Level: High Training Goals: Basic manners, getting used to living inside, leash walking, other basic training, socialization House trained? Yes Kids? Potentially older kids with proper supervision & separation Cats? Unknown Dogs? Potentially with proper supervision & separation Medical Needs: Yearly vet checkups, currently on medication for anxiety

About Me:


I am a young female puppy, estimated to be around 1 year old. I have been waiting at WAG for my forever home for over 180 days now. I was very timid and nervous at first, but I have gained lots of confidence with the staff and my volunteer friends. I am super playful and LOVE running around in the yard. I have even made my first friend – Penny, shes smaller than me but I let her chase me and share my toys with her. Sometimes I can be a bit over enthusiastic though and I never want playtime to end!

I love spending time in reception ‘helping’ the staff whilst they do admin. I always ask for pets and cuddles, but can settle if I have a kong or a snuffle matt. I didnt spend much time indoors previously so it is something I am gradually getting used to.

I love going for walks and get SO excited when I see my harness. Car rides are my favourite, to new areas I can do lots and lots of sniffing. I know that if I sit I get a treat, and if I stay calm when I greet people instead of jumping up, then I get lots of pets. I am not keen to be left alone much yet and am sometimes overstimulated. I am very gentle when taking treats from my friends. I have a LOT of energy and will run circles and do zoomies in the yard, sometimes I might boop you in excitement. I do enrichment activities every day to mentally stimulate me as well as physical walks, my world is getting bigger at a pace that I can handle.

I am around 23KG and the vet said I am “very well muscled”, so please remember I am strong girl, who has never had any training in my life prior to coming to WAG. I haven’t spent too much time around other dogs yet aside from Penny, but with slow introductions and supervision, it is a possibility. I don’t know how I feel about cats either, but I am quite interested in little birds and critters on my woodland walks.

I need a calm, dog experienced home who can help me learn the skills I need to be the good girl I want to be! I would like a person/ people willing to take things at my pace and understand my body language and how I am feeling.

I am hoping that my forever family will be awesome humans, lots of play, adventures, cuddles, but most importantly I need them to be patient.

Everything is new to me and many noises, smells and sights can make me nervous. I need my family to be understanding that they’ll need to work with me during this big life change, hire a trainer and give me time to adjust.

Someone who wants to get on board with my training plan is necessary! Could you be my furrever family?

My perfect match – Be able to commit to coming to visit me a few times at the shelter before going into my forever home – A family with patience – Understanding that a lot of things are new to me, I may need time to adjust to my new surrounding – Be proactive with my training, using a WAG approved trainer that will help me gain confidence and give my family the tools they will need when I come across something that is scary to me – Be ready for the 10+ year commitment – Keep me healthy and happy with proper exercise and yearly vet visits

My Story:

My family loved me lots, but didn’t have the time to train and socialize me. I came from a home with a family with visiting little humans, they gave me lots of love, but not lots of life skills.

My next family I hope will be eager to learn with me and make me an active member of their life!

If you can’t adopt at this time, please consider donating to my care.

DONATE TO WAG! Notice: JavaScript is required for this content.


bottom of page